
SCRANTON POLICE DEPARTMENT POLICY 

 
 

I. PURPOSE 

The purpose of this policy is to establish policy and procedures for members of the 
Scranton Police Department when providing assistance to victims of crimes. 

 
II. POLICY 

It is the policy that all members of the Department shall treat victims of crimes with 
fairness, compassion and dignity. Members shall comply with the procedures established 
by the Pennsylvania Crime Victims Acts (18P.S. 11.101 et seq) for local law enforcement 
agencies and the procedures outlined in this policy. 

 
III. TRAINING 

 
All officers shall be trained in the requirements of law enforcement agencies for the 
proper notification of crimes as outlined in the Pennsylvania Crime Victims Act (18 P.S. 
11.101 et seq.) section 11.212. This training shall also be a required segment of a new 
officer’s field training program.  

 
IV. PROCEDURES 

 
A. When interacting with victims of a crime, protect the victim from further injury. 

 
B. Attempt to strengthen cooperation between the victim and the Department to enhance 

the willingness of the victim to assist in the prosecution of criminal offenders. 
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C. Provide the following information and assistance to the victim as to the rights and 
services available to assist them: 
 
1. Officers shall provide basic information on the rights and services available to 

victims within 24 hours of the officer’s first contact with the victim. The basic 
information is contained in the Police Department’s Right and Services Available 
to Victims of Crime in Pennsylvania” brochure.  An “Acknowledgement  of 
Receipt of Information” form shall be completed by the officer and signed by the 
victim. This completed form shall be forwarded to Central Records.  
a. Personal injury crimes as defined in Pennsylvania Crime Victims Acts (18P.S. 

11.103) are: An act, attempt or threat to commit an act which would constitute 
a misdemeanor or felony under the following:  

18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 25 (relating to criminal homicide). 
18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 27 (relating to assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 29 (relating to kidnapping). 
18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 31 (relating to sexual offenses). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3301 (relating to arson and related offenses). 
18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 37 (relating to robbery). 
18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 49 Subch. B (relating to victim and witness intimidation). 
30 Pa.C.S. § 5502.1 (relating to homicide by watercraft while operating     

under influence). 
The former 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (relating to driving under influence of 

alcohol or controlled substance) in cases involving 
bodily injury. 

75 Pa.C.S. § 3732 (relating to homicide by vehicle). 
75 Pa.C.S. § 3735 (relating to homicide by vehicle while driving under 

influence). 
75 Pa.C.S. § 3735.1 (relating to aggravated assault by vehicle while 

driving under the influence). 
75 Pa.C.S. § 3742 (relating to accidents involving death or personal 

injury). 
75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 38 (relating to driving after imbibing alcohol or utilizing 

drugs) in cases involving bodily injury.  
 

2. Officers shall within 48 hours of the report of the incident, give notice to the 
victim or, if appropriate, a member of the victim’s family of the availability of 
crime victim’s compensation.  

 

This notification is also contained in the Police Department’s “Help Available to 
Victims of Crimes in Pennsylvania” brochure (SPD Form 12-001). An application 
form for the crime victim’s compensation shall also be provided with this 
notification. 

 



3. Officers shall document the issuance of packet in the case report.  
 

4. The Department is required to make reasonable effort to notify personal injury 
crime victims of a suspect’s arrest, within 24 hours of the arrest, filing or 
forwarding of complaint. 

 
5. In the event of a suspect escape and upon notification, the Department is required 

to notify personal injury crime victims of this escape.  
 

6. The Department shall return any property of the victim which has been seized as 
evidence upon the District Attorney’s Office determination that the evidence is no 
longer needed for prosecution.  

                   
 
By Order Of: 
 
     
Chief Carl R. Graziano  
Superintendent of Police 
Scranton Police Department 


