City Council

City Council serves as the legislative body of the City of Scranton’s government, with responsibilities including the introduction, review, and passage of resolutions and ordinances.

Comprised of five members, each elected for a term of four years, the Council convenes every Tuesday at 6:30 PM in City Council Chambers located on the second floor of City Hall.

Members of Council can be contacted by emailing Frank Voldenberg at or at their individual email addresses below.

Frank Voldenberg, City Clerk

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday | 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Standing Committees

All business requiring examination and follow-up by City Council shall be referred to the following Standing Committees:

Commitee on Rules
The Commitee on Rules deals with the following subjects: Office of the Mayor, the Law Department, Appointments, Resignations and Leave of Absence, Rules of Council, Procedural Issues Relating to Adoption/Repeal of Legislation, Scheduling of Public Meetings, Hearings, and Caucuses
Commitee on Finance
The Commitee on Finance deals with the following subjects: the Department of Business Administration, the Department of Human Resources, the Department of Information Technology, the Office of the Treasurer, the Single Tax Office, Revenue for the Support of the City Government, Claims Against the City, Taxation, Collections to the City Treasurer’s Accounts, Tax and Refuse Fee Delinquencies, Exonerations, and Finance and Budgetary Transfers.
Commitee on Public Works
The Commitee on Public Works deals with the following subjects: the Department of Public Works, the Department of Parks and Recreation, Pacing of Steets and Highways, Bridges, Sewers and Drains, Parks, City Garages and Buildings [Excluding Police and Fire], Refuse and Recycling, and Public Utilities.
Commitee on Public Safety
The Commitee on Public Safety deals with the following subjects: the Bureau of Fire, the Police Department, Parking and Parking Meters, Public Health and Sanitation, and Traffic Control and Maintenance
Commitee on Community Development
The Commitee on Community Development deals with the following subjects: the Office of Community Development, Code Enforcement, City Planning and Zoning, Animal Control, Urban Renewal and Redevelopment, and Housing.

City Council Members

Gerald Smurl
Mark McAndrew
Vice President
Jessica Rothchild, PT, DPT
City Councilmember
Thomas S. Schuster
City Councilmember
William King
City Councilmember
Skip to content